SBJL 2019 banner
VPL Opening Banner
WQS 2019 banner image
LT bond event 2019 banner

Media Relations

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Never miss an event, ribbon-cutting or award ceremony. Email the Media Relations team at news@scgov.net to join our news distribution list. Follow us on Facebook @SRQCountyGov and Twitter @SRQCountyGov.

News Room

Sarasota County media relations team members are in office 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and rotate on-call and after-hours response. Media outlets may submit queries through email or phone. General public should utilize the county contact center for questions and information.

Contact Us:

 Media requests and after hours:  941-861-NEWS (6397)  news@scgov.net
 General public queries:  941-861-5000  communications@scgov.net

Trending County News:

News

  •   2020 NEST Calendar now available

    Sarasota County's 2020 NEST Calendar is now available at county facilities, while supplies last. Each year, the Neighborhood Environmental Stewardship Team (NEST) produces the calendar, which supports the county's goal of environmental stewardship.

    12/11/2019 10:10 AM

  •   Hurricane season ended be prepared all year

    Hurricane season officially ended on Nov. 30, but it's important to stay vigilant and start prepping for the 2020 hurricane season.

    12/09/2019 9:11 AM

  •   Learn about Scherer Thaxton Preserve improvements

    Sarasota County is hosting a public meeting to provide information about improvements planned for Scherer Thaxton Preserve, including the construction of a restroom, fishing pier and accessibility enhancements

    12/04/2019 9:00 AM

  •   Breakfast with Santa returns to Newtown Estates Park

    Children 12 and under and their families are invited to attend the 15th annual Breakfast with Santa from 10 a.m. to 12:30 p.m Saturday, Dec. 21 at Newtown Estates Park. Hosted by Sarasota County Parks, Recreation and Natural Resources.

    12/03/2019 10:00 AM

More News

Meet The Team

 County Media Relations    County Media Relations
Drew smiling at camera Drew Winchester
Office: 941-861-5455
Cell: 941-284-7124
Email: dwinches@scgov.net
20170303_BrianneGrant_SD_EPHONE_02 Brianne Grant
Office: 941-861-5453
Cell: 941-363-1127
Email: bgrant@scgov.net


   
Emergency Services Media Relations SCAT Communications
20191004_SaraNealeigh_01_SD_WEB
Sara Nealeigh
Office: 941-861-2260
Cell: 941-275-9969
Email: snealeigh@scgov.net
20190111_LisaPotts_WEB_01_SD Lisa Potts
Office: 941-861-5103
Email: lpotts@scgov.net
Web: SCAT Bus Service
   
   
UF/IFAS Communications Florida Department of Health Sarasota PIO
KevinO'HoranWEB Kevin O'Horan
Cell: 941-320-2282
Email: kohoran@scgov.net
Web: UF/IFAS Sarasota
20190111_G.SteveHuard_WEB_01_SD Steve Huard
Office: 941-861-2852
Email: gerald.huard@flhealth.gov
Web: FL Department of Health

Municipalities and Local Agencies

 City of North Port logo transp     SFM logo JPEG
City of North Port   State Fire Marshal
Web: cityofnorthport.com    Web: Florida State Fire Marshal 
City and EMS/Fire PIO
Josh Taylor
  Communications Office/
Rotating PIO
P: 941-740-2815   P: 850-413-2842
E: jtaylor@cityofnorthport.com   E: communications@myfloridacfo.com

 
     
 City of Sarasota logo PNG transp    county school board logo transparent PNG
City of Sarasota    Sarasota County Schools 
Web: sarasotafl.gov
  Web: sarasotacountyschools.net
Senior Communications Manager
Jan Thornburg
  Director of Communications 
Tracey Beeker 
P: 941-365-2200 x 4411   P: 941-927-9000 x 31134
E: Jan.Thornburg@sarasotaFL.gov   E: tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net 
     
City Communications Specialist
Jason Bartolone 
  Media Relations Specialist 
Kelsey Whealy 
P: 941-365-2200 x 4412
  P: 941-927-9000 x 31138
E: jason.bartolone@sarasotafl.gov
  E: kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net
     
     
 City of Venice logo transp    SSO logo PNG transp
City of Venice 
  Sarasota County Sheriff's Office
Webvenicegov.com   Web: sarasotasheriff.org
City and Fire/EMS PIO 
Lorraine Anderson 
  Community Affairs Director
Kaitlyn Perez 
P: 941-882-7401   P: 941-861-4927
E: landerson@venicegov.com    E: kaitlyn.perez@sarasotasheriff.org
     
     
 TLBK logo    SPD logo transparent PNG
Town of Longboat Key
  Sarasota Police Department
Web: longboatkey.org
  Web: sarasotapd.org
Town PIO 
Susan Phillips
  Law Enforcement PIO
Genevieve Judge 
P: 941-374-5819
  P: 941-954-7094
E: sphillips@longboatkey.org
  E: genevieve.judge@sarasotafl.gov

 
     
 MCG-Logo-Color    SMH logo JPEG
Manatee County 
  Sarasota Memorial Hospital
Web: mymanatee.org   Web: smh.com
Information Outreach Manager
Nick Azzara 
  SMH Communications 
Kim Savage 
P: 941-745-3771
  P: 941-893-7649
E: nicholas.azzara@mymanatee.org
  E: kim-savage@smh.com

 
     
SSO logo PNG transp
SPD logo transparent PNG