Show/Hide

Click here to provide public comment for the April 8, 2020, Sarasota County Commission meeting.

SBJL 2019 banner
VPL Opening Banner
WQS 2019 banner image
LT bond event 2019 banner

Media Relations

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Never miss an event, ribbon-cutting or award ceremony. Email the Media Relations team at news@scgov.net to join our news distribution list. Follow us on Facebook @SRQCountyGov and Twitter @SRQCountyGov.

News Room

Sarasota County media relations team members are in office 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and rotate on-call and after-hours response. Media outlets may submit queries through email or phone. General public should utilize the county contact center for questions and information.

Contact Us:

 Media requests and after hours:  941-861-NEWS (6397)  news@scgov.net
 General public queries:  941-861-5000  communications@scgov.net

Trending County News:

News

  •   Sarasota County earns AAA credit rating from Fitch, S&P

    Sarasota County's general credit rating and the rating on its general obligation (GO) bonds, issued for the Legacy Trail Extension project, recently earned a "AAA" rating from both S&P Global Rating and Fitch Ratings, reflecting the county's continued financial stability and pragmatic practices.

    04/02/2020 4:28 PM

  •   COVID-19 Drive-Thru Tests Paused Until Tuesday

    The Department of Health in Sarasota County, Sarasota County Government along with Sarasota Memorial Hospital have decided to pause the COVID-19 Drive-Thru testing site located at Twin Lakes Park in Sarasota until Tuesday, March 31.

    03/28/2020 3:10 PM

  •   DOH Sarasota To Offer Drive-thru Specimen Collection For COVID-19

    The Department of Health in Sarasota County, Sarasota County Government along with Sarasota Memorial Hospital have partnered to establish a COVID-19 appointment only drive-thru specimen collection site for symptomatic people who meet current CDC testing guidance.

    03/26/2020 3:00 PM

  •   Property Tax Payment Due Date Extended

    On Monday, March 16, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis directed the Department of Revenue (Department) to provide flexibility on tax due dates to assist those adversely affected by COVID-19. Today, Department of Revenue Executive Director Jim Zingale issued an emergency order to extend the final due date

    03/26/2020 12:13 PM

More News

Meet The Team

 County Media Relations    County Media Relations
Drew smiling at camera Drew Winchester
Office: 941-861-5455
Cell: 941-284-7124
Email: dwinches@scgov.net
20170303_BrianneGrant_SD_EPHONE_02 Brianne Grant
Office: 941-861-5453
Cell: 941-363-1127
Email: bgrant@scgov.net


   
Emergency Services Media Relations
20191004_SaraNealeigh_01_SD_WEB
Sara Nealeigh
Office: 941-861-2260
Cell: 941-275-9969
Email: snealeigh@scgov.net

   
   
UF/IFAS Communications Florida Department of Health Sarasota PIO
KevinO'HoranWEB Kevin O'Horan
Cell: 941-320-2282
Email: kohoran@scgov.net
Web: UF/IFAS Extension and Sustainability
20190111_G.SteveHuard_WEB_01_SD Steve Huard
Office: 941-861-2852
Email: gerald.huard@flhealth.gov
Web: FL Department of Health

Municipalities and Local Agencies

 City of North Port logo transp     SFM logo JPEG
City of North Port   State Fire Marshal
Web: cityofnorthport.com    Web: Florida State Fire Marshal 
City and EMS/Fire PIO
Josh Taylor
  Communications Office/
Rotating PIO
P: 941-740-2815   P: 850-413-2842
E: jtaylor@cityofnorthport.com   E: communications@myfloridacfo.com

 
     
 City of Sarasota logo PNG transp    county school board logo transparent PNG
City of Sarasota    Sarasota County Schools 
Web: sarasotafl.gov
  Web: sarasotacountyschools.net
Senior Communications Manager
Jan Thornburg
  Media Relations Specialist 
Kelsey Whealy 
P: 941-365-2200 x 4411   P: 941-927-9000 x 31138
E: Jan.Thornburg@sarasotaFL.gov   E: kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net
     
City Communications Specialist
Jason Bartolone 
 
P: 941-365-2200 x 4412
 
E: jason.bartolone@sarasotafl.gov
 
     
     
 City of Venice logo transp    SSO logo PNG transp
City of Venice 
  Sarasota County Sheriff's Office
Webvenicegov.com   Web: sarasotasheriff.org
City and Fire/EMS PIO 
Lorraine Anderson 
  Community Affairs Director
Kaitlyn Perez 
P: 941-882-7401   P: 941-861-4927
E: landerson@venicegov.com    E: kaitlyn.perez@sarasotasheriff.org
     
     
 TLBK logo    SPD logo transparent PNG
Town of Longboat Key
  Sarasota Police Department
Web: longboatkey.org
  Web: sarasotapd.org
Town PIO 
Susan Phillips
  Law Enforcement PIO
Genevieve Judge 
P: 941-374-5819
  P: 941-954-7094
E: sphillips@longboatkey.org
  E: genevieve.judge@sarasotafl.gov

 
     
 MCG-Logo-Color    SMH logo JPEG
Manatee County 
  Sarasota Memorial Hospital
Web: mymanatee.org   Web: smh.com
Information Outreach Manager
Nick Azzara 
  SMH Communications 
Kim Savage 
P: 941-745-3771
  P: 941-893-7649
E: nicholas.azzara@mymanatee.org
  E: kim-savage@smh.com

 
     
SSO logo PNG transp
SPD logo transparent PNG