Governing Legislation: F.S. Chapter 339.175; Title 23 and Title 49, U.S. Code; Bylaws.
 
PurposeThis multi-jurisdictional board serves as a review and advisory body to the Sarasota/Manatee Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) in the comprehensive cooperative and continuing transportation planning process.
 
The MPOCAC Bylaws require a total of 28 members, nine of whom are nominated by Sarasota County for ratification by the MPO Board.
 
Requirements: 28 members (9 Sarasota County members).
  • Three citizens residing in unincorporated Sarasota County.
  • Minimum of one citizen representing the disabled.
  • Minimum of one citizen representing minorities.
  • Four at-large members.
Term: Three years.
 
Meetings: Eight times per year — second Monday of months in which the MPO meets, 5 p.m., at MPO office.
 
County Staff Contacts:
Rachel McClain - Rachel@mympo.org; www.mympo.org;
Robin Bayus - rbayus@scgov.net


Current Members – 2 Vacant Position

 

Kafi Benz

Category: Unincorporated Area Rep.

Term Expires: 11/30/2021

Email: Kafi.Benz@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Doug Christy

Category: At-Large Rep.

Term Expires: 3/31/2022

Email: Doug.Christy@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Margaret Hopkins

Category: At-Large

Term Expires: 12/30/2020

Email: Margaret.Hopkins@sarasotaadvisory.net

  

Danielle O'Donnell

Category: Representing the Disabled

Term Expires:  7/31/2021

Email: Danielle.Odonnell@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Dorian Popescu

Category: At-Large Rep.

Term Expires: 9/30/2020

Email: Dorian.Popescu@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

James Schmidt

Category: At-Large Rep.

Term Expires: 7/31/2021

Email: James.Schmidt@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Jeremy Whatmough

Category: Unincorporated Area Rep.

Term Expires: 11/30/2020

Email: Jeremy.Whatmough@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Vacant

Category: Representing Minorities

Category: Unincorporated Area Rep.