Governing Legislation: Sarasota County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 22, Article II, Section 108
 
PurposeHear appeals of decisions and interpretations of the building official and consider variances from the technical codes (Sarasota County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 22); grant variances to allow new construction, reconstruction and substantial improvements to be erected below the base flood level (Sarasota County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 54, Article XVI).

 

Requirements: Seven members.
  • Must have knowledge of and experience in technical codes such as architects, civil engineers, mechanical engineers, electrical engineers, licensed contractors and building industry representatives.
  • Required to file financial disclosure.
Term: Three years.
 
Meetings: Monthly - Second Wednesday of each month (only if an appeal is scheduled).
 

County Staff Contact:  Cheryl Swenney - cswenney@scgov.net


Current Members - 1 Vacant Position

 

Kortnee  Gonzalez

Term Expires: 6/30/2020

Email: Kortnee.Gonzalez@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Dale Lewis

Term Expires: 7/30/2020

Email: Dale.Lewis@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Orlando Priede

Term Expires: 4/30/2020

Email: Orlando.Priede@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Brett Temple

Term Expires: 12/31/2018

Email: Brett.Temple@sarsasotaadvisory.net

 

Teresa Toole, Chair

Term Expires: 8/30/2019

Email: Teresa.Toole@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Edward Wilson

Term Expires: 9/30/2018

Email: Edward.Wilson@sarasotaadvisory.net