Governing Legislation: Section 125.0104(4)(e), Florida Statutes; Section 2010-267, Laws of Florida; and Article III, Sarasota County Code of Ordinances
 
Purpose: The Sarasota County Tourist Development Council (TDC), appointed by the Board of County Commissioners, is a countywide advisory council that recommends tourism policy to the Board and oversees the use of all tourist development tax revenues collected in Sarasota County pursuant to Florida law.
 
The Board recognizes the value of establishing a group of individuals interested in tourism to examine the changing dynamics affecting Sarasota County’s tourist development, cultural environment, and beach maintenance and restoration, as well as to respond to the needs of the tourist industry.
 
Requirements: 13 members.
  • Should be collectors of Tourist Development Tax or involved with/interested in Tourist Development.
  • Must be a Sarasota County resident.
Term: Four years.
 
Meetings: Monthly - third Thursday; additionally, shall meet at such times and places as the chair, or designee, deems appropriate in order to fulfill the mission and duties of the TDC.
 
County Staff Contact: Anna Madden - amadden@scgov.net


Current Members - 1 Vacancy

 Bob Daniels

Category: City of Venice Vice Mayor 

Term Expires: 03/31/2019

Email: Bob.Daniels@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Shelli Freeland Eddie

Category: City of Sarasota Mayor

Term Expires: 12/31/2018

Email: Shelli.FreelandEddie@sarasotaadvisory.net

  

Charles Hines, Chair

Category: Sarasota County Commissioner

Term Expires: 12/31/2018

Email: CHines@scgov.net

 

Vern Johnson

Category: Involved and Interested in Tourism Development 

Term Expires: 10/31/2019

Email: Vern.Johnson@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Jill Luke

Category: City of North Port Commissioner 

Term Expires: 11/30/2021

Email: Jill.Luke@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Bharat Patel

Category: Collector of Tax 

Term Expires: 10/31/2021

Email: Bharat.Patel@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Angus Rogers

Category: Collector of Tax 

Term Expires: 10/31/2019

Email: Angus.Rogers@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Norman Schimmel, Vice Chair

Category: Involved and Interested in Tourism Development 

Term Expires: 07/31/2020

Email: Norman.Schimmel@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Ken Schneier

Category: Town of Longboat Key Commissioner

Term Expires: 07/31/2022

Email: Ken.Schneier@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Erin Silk

Category: Collector of Tax

Term Expires: 09/30/2020

Email: Erin.Silk@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Leon Thibeaut

Category: Involved and Interested in Tourism Development 

Term Expires: 10/31/2021

Email: Leon.Thibeaut@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

John Zaccari

Category: Collector of Tax 

Term Expires: 08/31/2022

Email: John.Zaccari@sarasotaadvisory.net