Show/Hide

Sarasota County is actively monitoring the beaches and cleaning in accordance with beach policy. To report a fish kill, call 800-636-0511.

Find current beach conditions at Mote Marine Daily Beach Conditions. Find updates on the county’s beach cleaning efforts at Red Tide Status.

Governing Legislation: Resolution No. 2018-037
 
Purpose: Recommend street and neighborhood planting projects and priorities; assist the county in updating and revising a consolidated tree list; assist in the dissemination of public information. Review and recommend revisions to the Sarasota County Code of Ordinances relating to trees and nominate new canopy roads for BCC consideration. Provide recommendations and perform other duties consistent with the terms of the governing resolution.
 
Requirements: Nine members
  • Background in landscape architecture, arboriculture, horticulture, tree management, land development or similar related field strongly preferred
  • Includes one Students Taking Active Roles (STAR) in Government representative 
Term: Three years.
 
Meetings: Monthly - second Thursday at 3:30 p.m.
 
County Staff Contact:
Rachel Herman - rherman@scgov.net
Rachael Silliman - rsilliman@scgov.net


Current Members – 3 Vacant Positions

Wayne Grubbs

Term Expires: 3/30/2021

Email: Wayne.Grubbs@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Terry Lipman, Vice Chair

Term Expires: 3/30/2021

Email: Terry.Lipman@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Lorraine Naughton, Chair

Term Expires: 1/31/2020

Email: Lorraine.Naughton@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

 

Brad Oberle

Term Expires: 3/30/2021

Email: Brad.Oberle@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Sean Patton

Term Expires: 1/31/2022

Email: Sean.Patton@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Jean-Ellen Trapani

Term Expires: 1/31/2020

Email: Jean-Ellen.Trapani@sarasotaadvisory.net