Governing Legislation: Resolution No. 2019-006
 
PurposeProvide a conduit for citizen input to the Board of County Commissioners to make recommendations or provide advice to the Board on issues and conditions affecting Sarasota County's older adult community.
 
Requirements: 11 members.
  • One member representing the local lead agency serving older adults that receives funding from the Older Americans' Act and/or Community Care for the Elderly.
  • Two members representing the geriatric department of a local hospital, Sarasota County medical community, or assisted living facilities serving older adults, and/or long-term care nursing facilities.
  • One member representing the arts and/or lifelong learning communities.
  • One member representing the business and/or professional community with an interest in serving older adults
  • Five at-large members 50 years of age or older.
  • One youth representative.
Members: May not hold elected office as a County Commissioner, be a Constitutional Officer or an employee of Sarasota County Government.
 
Term: Three years; one year for youth representative.
 
Meetings: Monthly - first Thursday at 3 p.m. unless moved due to special circumstances.
 
County Staff Contact:
Lynette Herbert - lynette.herbert@flhealth.gov
Claire Alexander - calexand@scgov.net


Current Members - 0 Vacant Positions

 

Nancy Buechler, Vice Chair

Category: Citizen-at-Large Rep. (50 years of age or older)

Term Expires: 12/31/2021

Email: Nancy.Buechler@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Barbara Cogswell, Chair

Category: Business/Professional Interest in Serving Elders

Term Expires: 12/31/2021

Email: Barbara.Cogswell@sarasotaadvisory.net 

 

Michelle Diven

Category: Citizen-at-Large Rep. (50 years of age or older)  

Term Expires: 7/31/2019 

Email: Michelle.Diven@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Nancy Hobson

Category: Local Lead Agency Serving Older Adults Rep.

Term Expires: 12/31/2019 

Email: Nancy.Hobson@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Tanya Hofmann

Category: Geriatric Department of a Local Hospital

Term Expires: 12/31/2021

Email: Tanya.Hofmann@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Kay Nathanson

Category: Citizen-at-Large Rep. (50 years of age or older) 

Term Expires: 12/31/2020 

Email: Kay.Nathanson@sarasotaadvisory.net

   

Rebecca Perry

Category: Citizen-at-Large Rep. (50 years of age or older)

Term Expires: 12/31/2020 

Email: Rebecca.Perry@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Christina Polokonis

Category: Students Taking Active Roles Government Rep.

Term Expires: 6/30/2019

Email: Christina.Polokonis@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Deborah Shapiro

Category: Citizen-at-Large Rep. (50 years of age or older)

Term Expires: 12/31/2020 

Email: Deborah.Shapiro@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Rhonda Stapleton

Category: Arts/Life Long Learning Communities Rep. 

Term Expires: 12/31/2021

Email: Rhonda.Stapleton@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Danielle Valery

Category: Geriatric Department of a Local Hospital

Term Expires: 12/31/2022

Email: Danielle.Valery@sarasotaadvisory.net