Governing Legislation: Resolution No. 2006-085
 

Purpose: Make recommendations to the County Commission concerning issues relating to parks, beaches, recreation and the acquisition and use of Neighborhood Parkland.

Requirements: 11 members.

  • Two with background and experience in parks and/or recreation.

  • Two with background and experience in neighborhood interests.

  • Two with background and experience in real estate or business interests in Sarasota County.

  • One with background and experience in environmental interests in Sarasota County.

  • One Students Taking Active Roles (STAR) Government representative.

  • Three representing municipal parks and/or recreation interests

    • One from the City of North Port (pursuant to Contract No. 93-314).

    • One from the City of Sarasota (pursuant to Contract No. 89-4851).

    • One from the City of Venice (pursuant to Contract No. 93-037).

Term: Three years, one year for STAR member.
 
Meetings: Bimonthly — generally first Thursday of Jan., March, May, July, Sept., Nov., 2:30 p.m.
 
County Staff Contact: Brenda S. Fisher - bsfisher@scgov.net.


Current Members – 2 Vacant Positions

Lynn Brock, Vice Chairman

Category: Real Estate or Business Interests

Term Expires: 9/30/2018

Email: Lynn.Brock@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Victor Dobrin

Category: Neighborhood Interests Representative

Term Expires: 10/31/2019

Email: victor.dobrin@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Leo Gordon

Category: STAR Student

Term Expires:  7/30/2018

Email:  Leo.Gordon@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Maryellin Kirkwood

Category: City of Sarasota Representative

Term Expires: 5/30/2020

Email: Maryellin.kirkwood@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Dan McLeroy

Category: Real Estate or Business Interests

Term Expires: 9/30/2018

Email: Dan.McLeroy@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Jono Miller, Chairman

Category: Environmental Interests Representative

Term Expires: 9/30/2018

Email: Jono.Miller@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Joan Piper

Category: City of Venice Representative

Term Expires: 11/30/2017

Email: Joan.Piper@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Andrew Sias

Category: City of North Port Representative

Term Expires: 6/30/2019

Email: andrew.sias@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Lucy Tobias

Category: Neighborhood Interests Rep

Term Expires: 4/30/2019

Email: Lucy.Tobias@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Vacant

Category: Parks and/or Recreation Rep.

Category: Parks and/or Recreation Rep.