Governing Legislation: Resolution No. 2006-085
 

Purpose: Make recommendations to the County Commission concerning issues relating to parks, beaches, recreation and the acquisition and use of Neighborhood Parkland.

Requirements: 11 members

  • Two with background and experience in parks and/or recreation
  • Two with background and experience in neighborhood interests
  • Two with background and experience in real estate or business interests in Sarasota County
  • One with background and experience in environmental interests in Sarasota County
  • One Students Taking Active Roles (STAR) representative
  • Three representing municipal parks and/or recreation interests:
    • from the City of North Port (pursuant to Contract No. 93-314)
    • from the City of Sarasota (pursuant to Contract No. 89-4851
    • from the City of Venice (pursuant to Contract No. 93-037)     
Term: Three years, one year for STAR member.
 
Meetings: Bimonthly — generally first Thursday of Jan., March, May, July, Sept., Nov., 2:30 p.m.
 
County Staff Contacts: Katie Raines - kraines@scgov.net;
Brie Ondercin - bonderci@scgov.net


 Current Members - 1 Vacant Position

 

Lynn Brock, Vice-Chair

Category: Real Estate or Business Interests Representative

Term Expires: 9/30/2021

Email: lynn.brock@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Ryan Brown

Category: Parks and/or Recreation Representative

Term Expires: 10/31/2020

Email: Ryan.Brown@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Shelby Connett

Category: Real Estate or Business Interests Representative

Term Expires: 9/30/2021

Email: Shelby.connett@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Victor Dobrin

Category: Neighborhood Interests Representative

Term Expires: 10/31/2019

Email: victor.dobrin@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Leo Gordon

Category: STAR Student

Term Expires: 7/30/2019

Email: Leo.Gordon@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Maryellin Kirkwood

Category: City of Sarasota Representative

Term Expires: 5/30/2020

Email: Maryellin.kirkwood@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Joan Piper

Category: City of Venice Representative

Term Expires: 9/30/2020

Email: Joan.Piper@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Matt Scarbrough

Category: Environmental Interests Representative

Term Expires: 9/30/2021

Email: matt.scarbrough@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Robin Short 

Category: City of North Port Representative

Term Expires: 6/30/2022

Email: Robin.Short@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Michelle Stanley - Chair

Category: Parks and/or Recreation Representative

Term Expires: 9/30/2021

Email: Michelle.Stanley@sarasotaadvisory.net

 

Vacant

Category: Neighborhood Interests Representative

Term Expires: 4/30/2022