Sarasota County values citizen participation in the decision-making process. There are more than 30 citizen advisory councils and non-advisory bodies with members appointed by the County Commission – over 300 positions in all.

Boards and councils are grouped below by general areas of interest. If you're interested in a particular council, please submit an application even if there are no current vacancies. We will keep your application on file for one year and reach out if a position becomes available. 

Areas of Interest
Community Services

Affordable Housing Advisory Committee
Community Action Agency Board
Criminal Justice Commission
Health Planning Council of SW Florida (multi-jurisdictional)
Historic Preservation Board 
Historical Commission
Human Services Advisory Council 
Library Advisory Board
Parks Advisory and Recreation Council 
Seniors Advisory Council


Coastal Advisory Committee
Environmentally Sensitive Lands Oversight Committee
Keep Sarasota County Beautiful Advisory Board
Mosquito Management Task Force
Sarasota Tree Advisory Council
Stormwater Environmental Utility Advisory Committee 
Water and Sewer Advisory Committee 
Waterways Advisory Council


Citizen Tax Oversight Committee (non-advisory)
Health Facilities Authority & Industrial Dev. Revenue Bond Citizens Advisory Committee
Neighborhood Initiative Grant Advisory Committee
Public Facilities Financing Advisory Board
Tourist Development Council

Planning, Zoning & Licensing

Board of Zoning Appeals (non-advisory)
Building Code Board of Adjustments & Appeals (non-advisory)
Citizens Advisory Committee for School Facility Planning (multi-jurisdictional)
Development Services Advisory Committee
Englewood CRA Advisory Board
General Contractors Licensing & Examining Board (non-advisory)
Mechanical Contractors Licensing & Examining Board (non-advisory)
Planning Commission


Bicycle Pedestrian Trail Advisory Committee
Citizen Advisory Committee for Public Transportation
Metropolitan Planning Organization Citizens Advisory Committee (multi-jurisdictional)
Traffic Advisory Council