Navigate Up
Sign In

 Community Redevelopment Areas

​In 1969 the Florida Legislature enacted the "Community Redevelopment Act of 1969". This act has been amended many times since its adoption and is codified in Part III of Chapter 163 of the Florida Statutes.
The Redevelopment Act gives redevelopment agencies the power to acquire property in redevelopment areas and dispose of it to private entities for redevelopment.
In addition the Act provides for the establishment of a redevelopment trust fund which trust fund if established allows for the capture of the increased property tax increments above the levels found at the inception of the adoption of a redevelopment plan.
Sarasota County has three Community Redevelopment Areas; two within the city of Sarasota and one in Englewood. Please follow the links to the left.

 Englewood CRA Boundaries



 Downtown CRA Boundaries



 Newtown CRA Boundaries


Sarasota County, Florida
TTY: 7-1-1
or 1-800-955-8771
Contact |  Careers |  News Room |  Privacy Policy