News List

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Moran chosen as 2020 commission chair

Post Date:12/13/2019 10:45 AM

The Sarasota County Board of County Commissioners selected Michael Moran, District 1, as chair and Alan Maio, District 4, as vice chair for 2020 during its annual retreat Friday. Christian Ziegler, District 2, will serve as Pro Tem. Michael A. Moran, Sarasota County Commissioner, District 1

The chair presides at commission meetings. The commissioners voted to select the positions, which are effective Jan. 1. The votes were unanimous.

Current chair Charles Hines, District 5, will continue serving in that role for the remainder of 2019. Moran currently serves as the vice chair. 

"It's a privilege to be selected by my colleagues to serve as chair of the board," Moran said, adding, " I am looking forward to guiding the board through a new year with new goals and new initiatives." 

Moran was elected to the Sarasota County Commission in 2016. His other community and civic association activities include serving as vice chair of the Sarasota County Planning Commission, the Sarasota Bay Estuary Program, Guardian Ad Litem, and the the Southwest Florida Water Management District, among others. 

Moran moved to Sarasota in 2002 with his wife Lori and two children. 

For more information, call the Sarasota County Contact Center 941-861-5000 or visit