News List

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Hines chosen as 2019 county commission chair

Post Date:12/07/2018
he Board of County Commissioners selected Charles Hines, District 5, as chair and Michael Moran, District 1, as vice chair for 2019 during its annual retreat Friday. Alan Maio, District 4, will serve as Pro Tem. 
The chair presides at commission meetings. The commissioners voted to select the positions, which are effective Jan. 1. The votes were unanimous.
Current Chair Nancy Detert will continue serving in that role for the remainder of 2018. Hines currently serves as the vice chair. 
"It's a privilege to be selected by my colleagues to serve as chair of the board,"  Hines said, adding, " I am looking forward to guiding the board through a new year with new goals and new initiatives." 
Hines was elected to the Sarasota County Commission in 2012 and previously served as chair in 2014. He has also served local government on the City of Venice's ADA advisory committee, Sarasota County's Surtax Oversight committee and as part of 
Sheriff Tom Knight's advisory committee.
Hines' other community and civic association actives include: the Venice Chamber of Commerce, the Sertoma Club of Venice, United Way of South Sarasota, Big Brother Big Sisters, the Venice Touchdown Club, and the Venice Little League. He is a member of the Florida Bar Association and the Sarasota Bar Association. Hines lives in Nokomis with his wife Susan, they have three children. 
For more information, call the Sarasota County Contact Center at 941-861-5000.


 Charles D. Hines, Sarasota County Commissioner, District 5      Michael A. Moran, Sarasota County Commissioner, District 1      Alan Maio, Sarasota County Commissioner, District 4    
Commissioner Charles Hines, 
District 5     

Commissioner Michael Moran, 
District 1

Comissioner Alan Maio, 
District 4
Return to full list >>