Navigate Up
Sign In

 Sarasota County High-Risk Flood Zones

Does not require Flash Player.
The Sarasota County High Risk Flood Zone interactive mapping application allows all interested parties to search for parcels by address and determine if a FEMA-designated High Risk Flood Zone intersects the parcel. The application results-window also provides links for more flood information and to the Sarasota County Property Appraiser.

 Flood Hazard Map Definitions

Buildings: Any structure, either temporary or permanent, having a roof impervious to water, and used or built for the shelter or enclosure of persons, animals, chattels, or property of any kind. This definition shall include any tent, awning, cabana, or vehicle situated on private property serving in any way the function of a building but does not include screened enclosures not having a roof impervious to weather. This definition shall also include the term house, mobile home and manufactured home.
Coastal Barrier Resource System: ​Coastal barriers are unique landforms that provide protection for distinct aquatic habitats and serve as the mainland's first line of defense against damage from coastal storms and erosion. The sale of NFIP flood insurance for structures built or substantially improved on or after a specified date is banned in these areas.
Coastal Construction Control Line: A jurisdictional line established by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection which defines that portion of the beach dune system subject to severe fluctuations based on a storm surge, storm waves, or other predictable weather conditions. Contact the Florida Department of Environmental Protection for guidance in this area.
Community Flood Hazard Area: The land identified in the Local Flood Study as being in a Floodplain within Unincorporated Sarasota County subject to a 1% or greater chance of flooding in any given year. As these studies gain FEMA certification, the boundaries are then included in FEMA Map.
Elevation Certificates: An Elevation Certificate is an important tool that documents your building’s elevation for the floodplain managers enforcing local building ordinance, and for insurance rating purposes.  
FIRM Panel: ​A Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) is a flood map that has been produced by FEMA. At a minimum, flood maps show flood risk zones and their boundaries, and may also show floodways and Base Flood Elevations (BFEs). More recent flood map products include digital FIRMs, which are created using digital methods and can be incorporated into a community's Geographic Information System.
Parcels: The least fractional part of subdivided lands having limited fixed boundaries, and an assigned number, letter, or other name through which it may be identified.
Base Flood Node: A single point in space defined by its latitude, longitude, and node ID.
FEMA Cross Section: Topographic information developed along a line across a riverine floodplain at which a computation of flood flow has been made to establish a potential flood elevation.
FEMA Flood Zones: The areas subject to inundation by the 1% annual chance flood. The 1 percent annual chance flood (100-year flood), also known as the base flood, is the flood that has a 1% chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year. The Base Flood Elevation is the water-surface elevation of the 1 percent annual chance flood.
  • Zone A: No Base Flood Elevations determined.
  • Zone AE: Base Flood Elevations determined.
  • Zone AH: Flood depths of one to three feet (usually areas of ponding); Base Flood Elevations determined.
  • Zone V:  Coastal flood zone with velocity hazard (wave action); no Base Flood Elevations determined.
  • Zone VE: Coastal flood zone with velocity hazard (wave action); Base Flood Elevations determined.
  • Zone X (Shaded):  Areas of 0.2 percent annual chance flood; areas of 1 percent annual chance flood with average depths of less than 1 foot or with drainage areas less than 1 square mile; and areas protected by levees from 1 percent annual chance flood.
  • Unshaded (No color) Areas: Those areas not shown as a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) or a Community Flood Hazard Area (CFHA) are considered to be low or moderate risk. The risk is reduced but not removed. 20-25% of all flood insurance claims come from low to moderate risk areas.  
FEMA Floodway: The floodway is the channel of a stream plus any adjacent floodplain areas. We must keep floodways free of encroachment so that they can carry floodwaters up to the 1 percent annual chance level without substantial increases in flood heights.

Wetlands: Wetlands generally include swamps, marshes, bogs, wet prairies and similar areas. Wetlands provide flood and erosion control while improving water quality.

Sarasota County, Florida
TTY: 7-1-1
or 1-800-955-8771
Contact |  Careers |  News Room |  Privacy Policy