Navigate Up
Sign In

 Sarasota County Commissioners



BCC Rules of Procedure - Exhibit A to R2015-219.pdfBCC Rules of Procedure - Exhibit A to R2015-219
Carolyn Mason Nora Patterson Christine Robinson Jon Thaxton

 2016 Board Priorities

  • Homeless initiatives
  • Public safety referendum
  • The Legacy Trail 
  • Update LDR/zoning code
  • Affordable housing effort
  • River Road funding
  • STC/North Port Library
  • Venice Library
  • Diversity in hiring action plan
  • Comprehensive Plan Update
  • World rowing preparation
  • Parks Master Plan
  • Public access - Preserves
  • 800 Mhz implementation



 Commission District Maps

Commission District Boundary Map.pdfCommission District Boundary Map
District 1 Boundary Map.pdfDistrict 1 Boundary Map
District 2 Boundary Map.pdfDistrict 2 Boundary Map
District 3 Boundary Map.pdfDistrict 3 Boundary Map
District 4 Boundary Map.pdfDistrict 4 Boundary Map
District 5 Boundary Map.pdfDistrict 5 Boundary Map

Sarasota County incorporated in 1921 and adopted a Home Rule Charter in 1971 in accordance with the state constitution and Florida law. The Charter established a commission form of government with County Commissioners as the county's governing body. The county administrator is appointed and is responsible to the commissioners as the chief administrative officer for all administration and operations. County Commissioners also appoint a county attorney who serves as legal advisor to the commission. 

Please Note:

Individuals with disabilities needing assistance to participate in any of the County Commission proceedings should contact County Administration at least three (3) working days in advance of the meeting date and time at 941-861-5344.


Sarasota County, Florida
TTY: 7-1-1
or 1-800-955-8771
Contact |  Careers |  News Room |  Privacy Policy